Portrait of Martin Sieberer

Our chef, a team player.

TYrol's most decorated chef

As a Tyrolean with a close connection to his homeland, Martin Sieberer loves the mountains, especially those that surround his home in Ischgl. After all, so much good is growing here; ingredients for his latest kitchen experiments. Here, he can strap on his skis in winter and get some distance from the stove or enjoy a quiet mountain meadow near the Dias Alm above his home in Kappl in summer. These days, however, the highest peak in Paznaun is no longer the Fluchthorn at 3,399 m, but rather the pile of awards that Sieberer has collected since first being dubbed “Rising chef of the Year 1997.” For more than 20 years, he has treated guests to the pinnacle of cuisine; Currently, a total of 7 toques adorn the two À-la-carte restaurants of the Trofana Royal.

Martin Sieberer illuminates the tradition of Tyrolean cuisine with the skill of a world-class chef. But those who eat in the Trofana Royal will be treated to more than “just” good food. They'll also enjoy a perfectly staged culinary evening with dishes like works of art.

Interview with Martin Sieberer

You are an indelible part of the Trofana Royal tradition. Where does this loyalty come from?

Since I accepted this great challenge in 1996, the partnership has developed into a success story for Trofana Royal, for me and for the whole region. And yet I still have many goals and ideas that I would like to implement together with von der Thannen family in the coming years!

How do you manage the balancing act of being innovative while retaining your own signature style?

If you cook what you like best, you’ll create your own distinctive line along the way. And, of course, I keep myself constantly informed about new trends, cooking techniques and product ranges and I try out everything that fits my style. I don't feel any pressure. High expectations are only imposed from within. I know that if I meet my own high standards, the guests and critics will always be delighted.

From today's perspective: Is there still room for improvement?

Trofana Royal’s cuisine has changed a lot over the last 20 years. If you look years or decades ahead, you might think that this success cannot continue. But we keep developing new dishes week after week, month after month. On the other hand, certain classics will still be served in 20 years. But all around us, new cooking techniques and new products will be discovered. We’ll take advantage of these novel approaches to create incomparable taste experiences for our guests.

Trofana Royal Chefkoch Martin Sieberer
Can Martin Sieberer still learn something from young colleagues?

Of course! All the young cooks who have worked with me are a source of inspiration. At the moment, I am taking on board many exciting ideas from my two sons. They are training with the best chefs in Europe and then returning to me in the Trofana Royal kitchen.

Role model and facilitator

As a professional, Martin Sieberer thinks far beyond his own stove. After all, he also started as an apprentice and has climbed the career ladder steeply but without taking any shortcuts. Small wonder he enjoys letting youngsters look over his shoulder and credibly conveys the joy of his profession. Sieberer also introduces interested amateur chefs to the secrets of his culinary artistry at the Royal Culinary Academy.

To the Royal Cooking Academy

Many apprentices and young chefs have laid the foundations for a successful career with him, including:

  • Paul Ivic (Tian, Vienna/Munich),
  • Hubert Wallner (Restaurant Saag, Techelsberg) &
  • Tobias Wussler (Ponyhof, Germany)

A successful run

A gourmet life

Martin Sieberer (*1968) is originally from Hopfgarten in Tyrol’s Brixental Valley. In his family, honest, natural cuisine has always been of great importance, which in turn influenced the career aspirations of Martin as a young chef. But it was only after he had completed his apprenticeship as a chef in a small hotel that his ambitions to further deepen his knowledge became apparent. This led him to seek out the best chefs in Austria, Germany and Switzerland, and in November 1996 he finally moved to Ischgl, where the von der Thannen family was looking for a committed chef for their new five-star superior hotel Trofana Royal.

Here, Sieberer found ideal conditions to become a star chef within a very short time. With his subtle evolution of traditional cuisine, he has elevated the Paznaunerstube restaurant and the entire hotel to the top league in terms of cuisine and image. Heimatbühne, the second restaurant, also became a resounding success with locals, holiday guests and critics.

Sieberer has been married to his wife Veronika since 1993. The pair has three grown-up children. He likes to spend his free time with his family. He also enjoys skiing, running and playing football.

Paznaunerstube awards
  • Gault Millau - 4 toques and 18 points – www.gaultmillau.at
  • Falstaff VIP Guide - 4 forks and 98 points – www.falstaff.at
  • A la Carte Guide - 5 stars and 95 points – www.alacarte.at
  • Guide Michelin with one star since the year of its appearance in Austria
Heimatbühne awards
PERSONAL AWARDS
  • Rising Chef of the Year 1997
  • Austrian Chef of the Year 2000
  • Schlemmer Atlas Top Chef of the Year 2019 in Austria
  • Innovation prize for ideas and implementation "Culinary Way of St. James" in Paznaun
FUNCTION AND OFFICES
  • President of the Club of Paznaun Cooks
  • Member of the Board, Austrian National Team of Gastronomy
  • Member of the Board, Paznauner Almkäse region

Website Martin Sieberer

Discover the Trofana Royal

At the Gourmet & Relaxation Hotel Tofana Royal, moments of holiday bliss large and small pile up to form the very destination of holiday bliss. Here are two such moments:

Accept
more...
This website uses cookies...

Martin Sieberer im Porträt

Unser Chefkoch, ein Teamplayer.

Tirols höchstdekorierter Haubenkoch

Als heimatverbundener Tiroler mag Martin Sieberer Berge. Ganz besonders jene, die rund um seine Wirkungsstätte Ischgl aufragen. Weil da so viel Gutes für seine neuesten Küchenexperimente wächst. Weil er im Winter vom Herd weg die Ski anschnallen kann und auf den stillen Bergwiesen bei der Dias Alm oberhalb seines Wohnorts Kappl besser entspannt als irgendwo sonst. Höchste Erhebung des Paznaun ist jedoch nicht das Fluchthorn 3.399 m ü. A., sondern der Stapel an Auszeichnungen, die Sieberer seit dem Award als „Aufsteiger des Jahres 1997“ kontinuierlich einheimst. Seit mehr als 20 Jahren verwöhnt er seine Gäste auf Hauben-Niveau, aktuell zieren insgesamt 7 Hauben die beiden À-la-carte-Restaurants im Trofana Royal.

Martin Sieberer beleuchtet die Tradition der Tiroler Küche mit dem Können eines Weltkochs. Wer im Trofana Royal isst, bekommt aber mehr als „nur“ gutes Essen serviert: nämlich einen perfekt inszenierten kulinarischen Abend mit Gerichten, die schon mal an Gemälde erinnern.

Interview mit Martin Sieberer

Sie gehören quasi zum Inventar des Trofana Royal. Woher rührt diese Treue?

Seit ich diese große Herausforderung 1996 angenommen habe, entwickelte sich die Partnerschaft zu einer Erfolgsgeschichte für das Trofana Royal, für mich und für die ganze Region. Und ich habe noch viele Ziele und Ideen, die ich in den kommenden Jahren gemeinsam mit Familie von der Thannen umsetzen möchte.

Wie gelingt der Spagat, innovativ zu sein und dabei die eigene Handschrift zu bewahren?

Wenn man kocht, was einem am besten schmeckt, schafft man seine eigene, unverwechselbare Linie. Und ich informiere mich natürlich ständig über neue Trends, Kochtechniken und Produktangebote und probiere alles aus, was zu meinem Stil passt. Druck spüre ich dabei nicht, die hohe Erwartungshaltung legt man sich nur selbst auf. Ich weiß: Wenn ich meinen eigenen Anspruch erfülle, werden die Gäste und die Kritiker immer begeistert sein.

Vom heutigen Niveau aus betrachtet: Ist da überhaupt noch Luft nach oben?

Die Küche des Trofana Royal hat sich in den letzten 20 Jahren sehr stark verändert. Blickt man Jahre oder Jahrzehnte voraus, glaubt man im ersten Moment, das könne gar nicht so weitergehen. Aber wir entwickeln Woche für Woche, Monat für Monat immer wieder neue Gerichte. Gewisse Klassiker werden auch in 20 Jahren noch bestehen. Aber rundherum werden sich neue Kochtechniken, neue Produkte auftun, mit denen wir unvergleichliche Geschmackserlebnisse kreieren.

Trofana Royal Chefkoch Martin Sieberer
Kann auch ein Martin Sieberer von jungen Berufskollegen noch etwas lernen?

Natürlich inspirieren mich all die Köche, die mit mir gearbeitet haben. Momentan übernehme ich sehr viele spannende Ideen von meinen beiden Söhnen, die sich bei den besten Köchen Europas weiterbilden und dann zu mir in die Trofana Royal Küche zurückkehren.

Vorbild und Förderer

Als Vollblut-Touristiker denkt Martin Sieberer weit über die eigene Herdplatte hinaus. Er, der selbst als Lehrling angefangen hat und die Karriereleiter steil, aber ohne Abkürzung nach oben geklettert ist, lässt sich daher gerne vom Nachwuchs über die Schulter blicken und vermittelt die Freude an seinem Beruf glaubhaft weiter. Auch interessierte Hobbyköche weiht Sieberer in der Royal Kochakademie in die Geheimnisse seiner Kochkunst ein.

Zur Royalen Kochakademie

Viele Lehrlinge und Jungköche haben bei ihm den Grundstein für eine erfolgreiche Laufbahn gelegt, wie etwa:

  • Paul Ivic (Tian, Wien/München),
  • Hubert Wallner (Restaurant Saag, Techelsberg) oder
  • Tobias Wussler (Ponyhof, Deutschland) 
Erfolgslauf
Ein Leben für den Genuss

Martin Sieberer (*1968) stammt aus Hopfgarten im Tiroler Brixental (und bringt als geselliger „Unterlandler“ sogar die zurückhaltendsten „Oberlandler “ zum Auftauen). In seiner Familie nahm die ehrliche, naturbelassene Küche immer schon einen hohen Stellenwert ein, was den Berufswunsch des jungen Martin beeinflusste. Aber erst nach der Kochlehre in einem kleinen Hotel meldete sich sein Ehrgeiz, die erlernten Kenntnisse immer weiter zu vertiefen. Dies führte ihn zu den besten Köchen in Österreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz und im November 1996 schließlich nach Ischgl, wo Familie von der Thannen einen engagierten Koch für ihr neues Fünfstern-Superior-Hotel Trofana Royal suchte. 
Hier fand Sieberer ideale Bedingungen vor, um innerhalb kürzester Zeit zum Starkoch zu avancieren. Mit seiner subtilen Evolution der traditionellen Küche hievt er die Paznaunerstube und das gesamte Hotel kulinarisch und imagemäßig in die Oberliga. Auch das zweite Restaurant Heimatbühne wird zum durchschlagenden Erfolg bei Einheimischen, Urlaubsgästen und Kritikern.

Sieberer ist seit 1993 mit seiner Veronika verheiratet, die beiden haben drei erwachsene Kinder. Seine Freizeit verbringt er am liebsten mit der Familie oder beim Skifahren, Laufen und Fußballspielen.

Auszeichnungen Paznaunerstube
  • Gault Millau mit 4 Hauben und 18 Punkten – www.gaultmillau.at
  • Falstaff VIP Guide mit 4 Gabeln und 98 Punkten – www.falstaff.at
  • A la Carte Guide mit 5 Sternen und 95 Punkten – www.alacarte.at
  • Guide Michelin mit einem Stern seit dem Erscheinungsjahr in Österreich
Auszeichnungen Heimatbühne
Persönliche Auszeichnungen
Funktion und Ämter
  • Präsident Club der Paznauner Köche
  • Vorstandsmitglied Österreichisches Nationalteam der Gastronomie
  • Vorstandsmitglied Genussregion Paznauner Almkäse

Website Martin Sieberer

Entdecken Sie das Trofana Royal

Im Gourmet- & Relaxhotel Tofana Royal reihen sich kleine und große Genussmomente aneinander und definieren Urlaubsglück immer wieder neu. Zwei davon finden Sie hier:

Akzeptieren
Mehr Infos
Diese Seite verwendet Cookies.